Training yourself to eat breakfast

 

As I read though blogs yesterday I ran across http://southwestcommunitycenter.wordpress.com/. They talked about morning exercise. I would like to be a morning exercise kind of girl and hope to work my way up to that one day. I am at my peak around noon to 3 pm so that is when I work out daily. Kind of an odd time but I get my work out in everyday and that is all that counts. One day I will be able to get up and bust my butt, right now I am just happy that I can get up (this girl is not a morning person), I also started eating in the mornings. I have never been one to eat breakfast. Unless I woke up hungover and HAD to have a huge plate of eggs, bacon, toast and hash browns. Naughty, Naughty.

As you know I am using Les Mills Pump by Beachbody. It came with a nutrition plan and of course it includes eating breakfast, snack, lunch, snack then dinner. Holy cow it seems like a lot of food when I first got started. Eating it all and getting the calories I needed was a struggle at first. Eating breakfast was the most difficult part of all. For years eating anything in the morning made my feel nauseous and miserable. I really am not sure why, it just did. So yes, I spent probably 10 days with a little bit of morning nausea as I got used to eating breakfast.

I don’t really think that there is a trick or gimmick to learning or training your self to eat in the morning and you body being okay with that. Just get up a few minutes earlier and eat something. Even if you do no want to, even if you are afraid or feel that you will be a little nauseous for a bit after. I MADE myself eat breakfast, and I whined and complained about it for about 10 day. I just powered through it as you need to do. Just like that last set of lunges, you want to run, but that last set is the most important so you power through know that in the end result will be so worth it. After powering through breakfast for 10 days my body just got used to it, 10 days is nothing seeing I have been alive for 11,472 days. My body expects it in the mornings. I wake up and get motivated faster for the day (no caffeine) my appetite is properly controlled through out the day and I love the fact that I was able to become a morning eater. So I think the key is a good mind-set, some determination, the want for change and a go to attitude and anyone can be a morning eater. The first week or so may not be the most pleasant but in the long run the benefit is so worth it.

And…. don’t tell me you do not have time. There are fast and easy breakfast options. I’ll even give you a list so you don’t have to do the thinking for yourself.

  1. bowl of high fiber cereal
  2. protein bar
  3. smoothie
  4. eggs (you can scramble an egg in 60 seconds in the microwave)
  5. toast
  6. oatmeal
  7. fruit
  8. waffle

Start simple if you need to and work your way up to a more well-rounded meal. You will find that you will snack less through the day, eat a better lunch, eat smaller meal portions and have a better day. When you treat your body good your body rewards you for it. And remember that any small change you make leads to a happier, healthier and more fit you and don’t you think you are worth it? I know I am.

Time to go have my breakfast, have a great day everyone!

About RoundToRavishing

30 Something mom, wine and craft beer lover, wanna be crafter who is getting back on the weight-loss horse.

6 responses »

  1. I have always been a breakfast eater, but DH has not been. I also have always awakened very early in the morning, even as a teenager.
    Now, I drink a cup of coffee or tea during my quiet time in God’s Word, eat a touch of carb like half a banana, then workout. I wait until after my exercise for breakfast, which is protein-rich with good fats & only veggie carbs.
    DH has seen his weight begin to drop & body reshape eating 2 eggs cooked in good fat & hot tea every morning.
    Eat your breakfast – it’s good for you!
    Oh, and bananas are very good for hangovers…if that is still an issue…all that potassium & calcium…

    Reply
  2. Great post 🙂 I am not a morning person either!! I would love to be able to get up in the morning and workout..I’ve tried…it was a fail! I have a hard enough time getting myself out the door on time..forget getting up early for a workout 🙂

    Reply
  3. I have always been a morning person. Which has come back to bite me in the back side because now my kids want to get up at 5:30 am on the weekends. If I am up, I want me time. Eggs are an easy breakfast. I crack one in a bowl, scrample and 45 seconds I am eating. When I want a change up I will have oatmeal with some protein powder and cinnamon.

    Reply
  4. I have always eaten breakfast and I’m fat! Lol.

    I’m really enjoying protein shakes in the morning! Easy to handle at 4:30 in the morning before work!

    Reply
  5. This is so true! Some mornings, I just don’t feel like eating- but I’m going to start having shakes or smoothies when I really don’t want to eat.

    Reply

Leave a comment

sarahsipsvino

Getting through life one sip of wine at a time.

fightingforbabyg

A Mother's fight for her sweet baby

Damn girl, that's a lot of fattitude

Healthy lifestyler and certified nutjob

cleaneatingintexas.wordpress.com/

learning to eat clean....one meal at a time!

presentlyobsessed

A topnotch WordPress.com site

lulu lives healthy

Every new day is a chance to get healthy!

Healthy Girl Blog

An Australian Girl's Journey of Weight loss.

The Incredible Shrinking Shrinks

Two Therapists Lose It

A Fat Man's Journey (Working my way back...)

An Attempt to Journey from Fat to Fit in a Lifetime. Eat right, Eat less, Move more

morrisdanielevan

My personal weight loss struggles and successes and things learned.

Shawn's Gut

On death row...

The Real Jeremy Holley

Writing About Whatever Is On My Mind

wrrjourney

Wash, Rinse, Repeat: Tales of a recovering yo-yo dieter

Alan's Road to losing Weight

Starting Weight: 147.8lbs Goal Weight: 140lbs

fat girl bride thin

all things wedding

Life as I Know It

The ups, downs and in betweens of living