RSS Feed

Quinoa Trail Mix Bites Recipe

Today is Day 23 and it is a scheduled rest day so no workout happened. But I did make these:

Lately temptation has been everywhere and I have been coming unraveled because of it. It makes me cranky and no one wants to be around when I am cranky. So the solution to my problem was to make myself a treat that is not only healthy but gluten-free, high protein and that falls into the clean eating category.  The best part is there is no baking involved. When it is warm out nothing turns your house into an oven quicker than turning on the oven.

About a year ago I featured a Quinoa Ball recipe on my blog but decided I needed to amp it up a bit. So here is the recipe with all my revisions added in. I made quite a few changes!

Quinoa Trail Mix Bites. Don’t they look delish??

 

Ingredients:

1 cup old-fashioned oats, dry (Bob’s Red Mill brand offers gluten-free oats, most oats are not gluten-free, these are)

1/4 cup quinoa, dry

3/4 cup water

1/4 cup shredded unsweetened coconut (I used half flaked and half shredded because I like the difference in texture)

1/4 cup chopped pecans

1/3 cup unsalted sunflower seeds

1/2 cup dark chocolate chips

1/3 cup dried cranberries

1 tbsp pure vanilla extract

1/2 tbsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp sea salt

1/4 cup peanut butter (almond butter work too, I used chunky PB)

1/3 cup honey

Directions:

1. In a small pan combine the quinoa and water and bring to a boil. Cover then simmer for about 12 minutes, until quinoa has completely absorbed all liquid. Fluff it with a fork and pour into a large bowl.

2. Add oatmeal, dried cranberries. cinnamon and the coconut to quinoa and mix until everything is completely incorporated.

3. In a small pan bring the honey to a simmer then stir in the vanilla. Pour honey and vanilla mix onto the other ingredients in the bowl and mix until everything is combined.

4. Cool the mixture then add the chocolate chips, peanut butter and salt.  Mix until everything is evenly mixed through. using your hands seems to work the best.

5. Pop it all in the fridge to cool (takes about an hour). or you can pop it into the freezer and just stir it occasionally (it takes about a half hour then)

6. After it is thoroughly cooled scoop out the mixture by a heaping tbsp full and form into a ball. This works best if you keep your hands damp.

7. ENJOY!

I made a double batch and half the mixture in the fridge to ball up later. I like to ball them up in small batches to keep myself from chowing down. They are just that good. These also freeze really well.

 

About RoundToRavishing

30 Something mom, wine and craft beer lover, wanna be crafter who is getting back on the weight-loss horse.

2 responses »

  1. Cute “balls”. Hee hee. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

sarahsipsvino

Getting through life one sip of wine at a time.

fightingforbabyg

A Mother's fight for her sweet baby

Damn girl, that's a lot of fattitude

Healthy lifestyler and certified nutjob

cleaneatingintexas.wordpress.com/

learning to eat clean....one meal at a time!

presentlyobsessed

A topnotch WordPress.com site

lulu lives healthy

Every new day is a chance to get healthy!

Healthy Girl Blog

An Australian Girl's Journey of Weight loss.

fatmommiechronicles

The thoughts of one fat mom on a journey

The Incredible Shrinking Shrinks

Two Therapists Lose It

A Fat Man's Journey (Working my way back...)

An Attempt to Journey from Fat to Fit in a Lifetime. Eat right, Eat less, Move more

morrisdanielevan

My personal weight loss struggles and successes and things learned.

Shawn's Gut

On death row...

nmliving

What I love, what I promote, what I am

CurvyLogic

My Life. My Blog.

My Big Fat Kiwi Weight Loss...

Looking for the healthier me in Middle Earth....

The Real Jeremy Holley

Writing About Whatever Is On My Mind

