RSS Feed

Ian’s Birth Story with Pics

I am sure it is obvious with all the passed time that I have had my baby. So it is time to change my blog name and drop the “Back to Round again” off the title. In two more weeks the doctor should approve me to start to be more active and time for me to work on losing all the baby weight.  And I am sure there is quite a bit to lose. After being put on bedrest the weight gain got out of control. Watching what and how I ate went 100% out the window. I hated bed rest and used food to pacify myself. I know it wasn’t the best thing to do but I had to have something that made me happy. Now, it is time to fix that. By the end of the pregnancy I had gained 49 pounds! As far as what I weigh now, I have no idea. Until my 6 week check up I refuse to weigh myself. The good news is that I am a size 14 so only a size up from pre-pregnancy. It is definitely a snug 14 and I have a muffin top but I can get in them, button them and still move freely and breathe so I say they fit.

Our little bundle was born at 39 weeks 5 days gestation on April 13, 2013 at 2:13am. He was 7 pounds – 6 ounces and 20 inches long. So the bed rest worked and he was only 2 days from his estimated due date.  We named him Ian Patrick.

Three days before he was born my Midwife stripped my membranes and said he would be here in 24 to 48 hours. He decided that she was not going to be right and so I took to lots of mall walking and bouncing on the exercise ball. After 2 days of walking 5 hours and bouncing for 2 hours my contractions were holding steady at 10 minutes apart. No different from the previous weeks. Let me tell you having them for weeks on end was such a pain. So on Friday i walked another 2.5 hours with a friend and bounced her little one on my belly. Once I bounced him on my belly it really seemed to get things moving so I headed home and bounced on my ball for an hour, took a break and had dinner then all of a sudden… NOTHING! Not a Braxton Hick, contraction, cramp, nothing! So Pat and I went back to the mall, did a little shopping and walked another 2.5 hours, headed home and I spend another wonderful hour bouncing on the birth ball. My contractions were back and 10 minutes apart. After a couple more hours nothing changed so I decided to go to bed. Around Midnight I woke up to use the bathroom and they were still 10 minutes apart, so I headed back to bed. What a disappointment! At 1:20 I was awakened by a really, really strong contraction, and the next one came 2 minutes later. So I woke Pat up and had him call my OB while I got dressed. They said to head on in on the way my contractions moved to 1 minute apart. We got to the hospital and they eased up for 4 minutes then once in my room they picked back up to 1 minute apart. The nurse checked me immediately and I was at 10 and 100% but she thought she could feel the cord wrapped. So the OB and what felt like a billion other people rushed in. Right then my waters broke.

His cord wasn’t wrapped, he was breach! The thing is he was not foot down breach, he was (this is hard to explain) kind of horizontal but bent in a U shape but face down, so he was bent backwards in a way. So after they quickly contorted my body in some ungodly painful way I all of a sudden had 4 people’s hands in my trying to flip him. I at this point have no clue what was going on. I can just hear things like, c-section, breech  cord, emergency and stuff that would put any woman in labor in a panic. I don’t remember but I was told that about this point I all of a sudden said to the medical team “What are you doing in there? Please stop it” I would’ve thought that anything I said would have been all profanity and fun stuff like that but nope, I used my manners. HAHA!  They were able to flip him out of breach position and I was given the okay to push, after one crappy push and one real good one he was out. The poor thing was transverse though. His poor little face was one big bruise and the nurses said he looked like Mick Jagger because his lips were so swollen and weird-looking. His face scrapped along my pelvic bone on the way out and that caused the bruising. The plus was that he was perfectly healthy and had all 10 finger and toes :).  The crazy thing is he was born and all this happened after I was in the room for only 13 minutes (50 minutes from when the doctor was called from home)! They hadn’t even gotten any of my info or checked me in. There was no time. So needless to say the birth plan was thrown out the window. That’s 7 minutes faster than Emma!

My hips are still messed up from them overextending my lower half to make space to flip him but other than that recovery is going quite well. His bruising is gone (but caused some major jaundice, that is now gone). We had a hard time getting breastfeeding going because his swollen lips make it hard for him to latch. We have got it down now and all is good. Also, Emma has taken on her role as a big sister wonderfully. I am so very proud of her!

So here is the little guy! Pictures are by Ashley Nicole Photography. I was lucky enough for her to be in the States and able to come to our home and take pictures. Thanks Ashley we love you! You can check her out on Facebook here.

About RoundToRavishing

30 Something mom, wine and craft beer lover, wanna be crafter who is getting back on the weight-loss horse.

4 responses »

  1. Congratulations 🙂 What a beautiful family! And Happy Belated Mother’s Day 🙂

    Reply
  2. He is beautiful. I love the pics. Congrats!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

sarahsipsvino

Getting through life one sip of wine at a time.

fightingforbabyg

A Mother's fight for her sweet baby

Damn girl, that's a lot of fattitude

Healthy lifestyler and certified nutjob

cleaneatingintexas.wordpress.com/

learning to eat clean....one meal at a time!

presentlyobsessed

A topnotch WordPress.com site

lulu lives healthy

Every new day is a chance to get healthy!

Healthy Girl Blog

An Australian Girl's Journey of Weight loss.

fatmommiechronicles

The thoughts of one fat mom on a journey

The Incredible Shrinking Shrinks

Two Therapists Lose It

A Fat Man's Journey (Working my way back...)

An Attempt to Journey from Fat to Fit in a Lifetime. Eat right, Eat less, Move more

morrisdanielevan

My personal weight loss struggles and successes and things learned.

Shawn's Gut

On death row...

nmliving

What I love, what I promote, what I am

CurvyLogic

My Life. My Blog.

My Big Fat Kiwi Weight Loss...

Looking for the healthier me in Middle Earth....

The Real Jeremy Holley

Writing About Whatever Is On My Mind

