RSS Feed

A little scare

 

Sometimes we are convinced that this baby is going to be my problem child! He can be a tricky little bugger! Yesterday evening I realized that no fetal movement had been felt after about 10:30 in the morning at the dentist. So another call to the Ob was made. They had us go to the hospital for a non-stress test. Of course it took forever to get there because I had no Idea how long we would be there and had to be sure everything was in order for Emma to make it to school in the morning. We weren’t too worried about getting there quick as the nurse at the OB office was very calm on the phone and told me to get ready then head up. They called ahead so the hospital would be expecting me. After we got Emma in order we pack my and the babies bags in the car and headed in.

After it taking so long to get ready it has come to my attention that I need to have a bag packed for Emma and waiting just in case. So that is now on the to-do list. a good friend of mine is actually going to babysit her here at home and help take care of our zoo too. The cats and lizard would be okay for a day or two but not our Tico. He can’t handle us taking a trip to the local grocery store. He has some anxiety issues as well as the need to go outside to do his doggie business  I do recommend the Thundershirt if you have an anxious dog. It helps him a ton and keeps us from having to medicate him. But for just in case instances I should have a bag ready for Emma.

So we get to the Labor and delivery floor and they are packed. It was a huge day for babies in our town I guess. The nurses said it was non stop and they did not have any room available for us. no biggie. We chilled in the waiting room for a bit and I took the time to text a few people to give them the heads up on where we were and why and all that fun stuff. It didn’t take too long to get into a room. They took me back but made Pat stay in the waiting room while they got me ready. I always think that is so weird. If I have to get into a gown I am perfectly fine if he sees it. He did have to see me in my birthday suit to get into this predicament in the first place!

Within ten minutes of getting hooked up the baby started to move, and boy did he move. I swear he was trying to make a fool of me! So we did counts for a bit, they checked for contractions and then sent us on our merry way. On discharge the doctor suggested that I put a belt or bandage around my belly if I don’t feel him. Maybe the pressure around my big old belly made him want to move. So if we ever deal with lack of fetal movement I will try that first I guess.

So it was a pain in the butt but at least everything is good and we have another day where we kept him in!

I hope you all have a wonderful Thursday!

 

About RoundToRavishing

30 Something mom, wine and craft beer lover, wanna be crafter who is getting back on the weight-loss horse.

7 responses »

  1. Ah yes, the joys of the “final month”!

    When my wife was pregnant with our son, with 2 weeks to go, he still hadn’t made the turn. She had to do all the exercises, which of course, was amusing to watch for me, and finally, three days before the due date, he was in position.

    Then of course, there was the day of his birth. That morning, we went to the doctor and she said, we are going to induce labor. Come back at 5. Around 2:00, my wife was on the phone with the sister-in-law, and said to her, I have to go…….my water broke!

    Back to the doctor…and now..we were still going to the hospital..but not to induce labor, to have a baby!

    After 10 hours of labor, the doctor takes me outside and informs me what I already knew. I was watching the heart monitor and it kept going down to 100, 80, etc…. She said if it drops below 100 one more time, we are going to do an emergency C-section. It never dropped below 100 again!

    Turns out the umbilical cord was wrapped around his neck, and when he came out, she straightened that out before I cut it.

    It has been our sons calling card…he never does anything until he is good and ready!

    Good Luck!!

    Reply
  2. Oh, what a scare! I completely understand. Solidarity. *fist bump*

    Reply
  3. Glad it was ok! I am doing those NSTs twice a week…I guess they’re reassuring. Less than 2 weeks to go *deep breath*…

    Reply
  4. favorite sentence of this post: “He did have to see me in my birthday suit to get into this predicament in the first place!” haha so true 🙂 this exact same thing totally happened to me and i felt completely ridiculous. i’m glad you got a little test run so you know to have a bag packed for your little girl! maybe it was a blessing in disguise. good luck!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

sarahsipsvino

Getting through life one sip of wine at a time.

fightingforbabyg

A Mother's fight for her sweet baby

Damn girl, that's a lot of fattitude

Healthy lifestyler and certified nutjob

cleaneatingintexas.wordpress.com/

learning to eat clean....one meal at a time!

presentlyobsessed

A topnotch WordPress.com site

lulu lives healthy

Every new day is a chance to get healthy!

Healthy Girl Blog

An Australian Girl's Journey of Weight loss.

fatmommiechronicles

The thoughts of one fat mom on a journey

The Incredible Shrinking Shrinks

Two Therapists Lose It

A Fat Man's Journey (Working my way back...)

An Attempt to Journey from Fat to Fit in a Lifetime. Eat right, Eat less, Move more

morrisdanielevan

My personal weight loss struggles and successes and things learned.

Shawn's Gut

On death row...

nmliving

What I love, what I promote, what I am

CurvyLogic

My life as a plus size broke girl: trying to lose weight, save money, stay cute and find myself.

My Big Fat Kiwi Weight Loss...

Looking for the healthier me in Middle Earth....

The Real Jeremy Holley

Writing About Whatever Is On My Mind

