RSS Feed

12 Reasons to Exercise During Pregnancy

When I talked about getting back to a workout routine once I can do it without getting sick (all day sickness stinks!) people acted like I was a crazy person. I know that rest is a good thing during pregnancy but exercise is as well. Honestly, I think there should be a health balance of rest and exercise during a pregnancy. There are multiple benefits of staying active or getting active during your pregnancy. I am slowly getting back to more activity and it is going well. I think it may be about time to step it up a little bit.

Granted every person and pregnancy is different and I won’t tell you to go out and get moving without the supervision of you OB/GYN. They know what is best for you. I had to wait a while to get the okay to get started with working out again; in all reality during the period I had to wait (for medical reasons) I would not have been able to do anything. All daily activities were hard to do because I was so ill. Now most of my illness is in the evening through the night so during the day there is no reason I don’t try to move a little bit. Now you may be wondering what the benefits of a prenatal workout are so here are a few things I dug up and that my doctor told me.

  • Improved posture: The extra weight you gain up front can cause you to have curvature in the spine and cause compression in your back increasing back pain and discomfort
  • It can increase strength and stamina and that can help you through labor and delivery
  • Enhancement of circulation and flexibility
  • Reduced risk of gestational diabetes
  • Just an all around feeling of well being
  • Can help you sleep better at night
  • Calcium absorption can increase
  • Fewer varicose veins and stretch marks
  • Less risk of abdominal separation
  • Your body will bounce back quicker after you deliver
  • Stress reduction
  • Improved self image

Be sure to consult your physician before you start a workout regimen. Even if you have never worked out in your life starting during pregnancy is still okay for most people and a good idea!

About RoundToRavishing

30 Something mom, wine and craft beer lover, wanna be crafter who is getting back on the weight-loss horse.

2 responses »

  1. Here’s a recent review on the issue:

    Med Sci Sports Exerc. 2012 Aug 14. [Epub ahead of print]
    Health Benefits of Physical Activity during Pregnancy: An International Perspective.
    Mudd LM, Owe KM, Mottola MF, Pivarnik JM.

    Abstract

    ABSTRACT: While early studies on the effects of leisure-time physical activity (LTPA) during pregnancy were concerned about possible harm to the mother or fetus, these fears have not been substantiated. Instead, a growing body of literature has documented several health benefits related to pregnancy LTPA. The purpose of this paper was to synthesize evidence from epidemiological studies conducted in the United States, Canada and Scandinavia on the benefits of LTPA and exercise during pregnancy with regards to maternal health, pregnancy outcomes, and child health. We focused on studies evaluating relations between pregnancy LTPA and gestational diabetes, hypertensive disorders, excessive gestational weight gain, birth weight, timing of delivery, and child body composition. The bulk of evidence supports beneficial effects of pregnancy LTPA on each outcome; however, the majority of previous studies have been observational and utilized self-reported LTPA at only one or two time-points in pregnancy. Limitations of the current knowledge base and suggestions for future research on the health benefits of LTPA during pregnancy are provided.

    Reply
  2. OMG I love exercising no matter the situation. But during pregnancy isn’t always easy, but it’s so worth it. The only thing I hate so much is when I exercise, shower, then the heat causes my ligaments to relax and then I have pain. Boo to that. But it’s not that often.

    Kudos to you for spreading the word! It never helps me with weight gain, however. I still gain what I gain. BUT at least I stay healthy! And my endurance stays up, which is the hardest as you get bigger.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

sarahsipsvino

Getting through life one sip of wine at a time.

fightingforbabyg

A Mother's fight for her sweet baby

Damn girl, that's a lot of fattitude

Healthy lifestyler and certified nutjob

cleaneatingintexas.wordpress.com/

learning to eat clean....one meal at a time!

presentlyobsessed

A topnotch WordPress.com site

lulu lives healthy

Every new day is a chance to get healthy!

Healthy Girl Blog

An Australian Girl's Journey of Weight loss.

fatmommiechronicles

The thoughts of one fat mom on a journey

The Incredible Shrinking Shrinks

Two Therapists Lose It

A Fat Man's Journey (Working my way back...)

An Attempt to Journey from Fat to Fit in a Lifetime. Eat right, Eat less, Move more

morrisdanielevan

My personal weight loss struggles and successes and things learned.

Shawn's Gut

On death row...

nmliving

What I love, what I promote, what I am

CurvyLogic

My life as a plus size broke girl: trying to lose weight, save money, stay real, and find myself.

My Big Fat Kiwi Weight Loss...

Looking for the healthier me in Middle Earth....

The Real Jeremy Holley

Writing About Whatever Is On My Mind

