RSS Feed

Working Through My Plateau..

 

At least I am trying too. I did shave those 200 calories off my diet and replace more calories with protein. I also have added another workout into my daily schedule. So now I do Pump/UCT in the afternoons and additional cardio or a gym session (yesterday both) at night. I am excited to see if this brings on any changes my next weigh in.  My running has not been doing as well as I would like. Already are keeping me so congested I can not breathe so I am just doing what I can and being happy that I tried. The farm fields around my house are blooming so the allergies should pass shortly. Every end of June this happens so I am not shocked at all.

I have been looking up plateau busters online and found a great article on the subject on www.oprah.com. 

1. Hang in there.
You may feel stuck, but you’re probably still losing weight—just not enough to register on the scale. But even dropping a third of a pound per week means that in a year, you’ll be down a whole 17 pounds.

2. Avoid fuzzy math.
It’s common to overestimate calories burned and underestimate calories eaten. Look for places where calories may hide—dressings, spreads, sauces, croutons, and condiments. Are you tasting a lot while cooking? Finishing what the kids leave on their plates? Absentmindedly grabbing handfuls of nuts, chips, or candy? You might try keeping a detailed food diary. Remember that for each pound you want to lose, you need to cut at least 3,500 calories—and if you don’t want to eat less, to lose the same pound you’ll have to add about ten extra hours of brisk walking or the equivalent.

3. Put up some resistance.
Increasing physical activity is particularly useful for moving beyond a plateau because exercise both uses calories and builds muscle. The more muscle you have, the higher your BMR, which is why working out with light weights or doing some kind of resistance training can be especially helpful. In fact, increasing your muscle mass as you lose body fat can compensate for the decline in BMR induced by weight loss.

4. Up your protein quotient.
There is some evidence that shifting fat and carbohydrate calories to protein calories may help preserve BMR during weight loss. But don’t overdo it—20 percent of daily calories from protein is as high as you should go.

5. Shake it up.
Many fitness gurus claim that surprising your body with a change in diet, workout, or both can jostle you out of a weight loss rut. The science is pretty thin here, but the advice is reasonable because variety can keep you interested. Instead of constant dieting, you might try alternating calorie-cutting days, for example, with less-restrictive maintenance days. Switch to a new type of exercise. Alternate aerobic workouts with light weight training. A change may be just what you need to get the progress rolling again.

6. Recharge your drive:
If your motivation is flagging, write down all the reasons you originally wanted, and still want, to lose weight. Look at the list every day. Also let friends and family know what you’re up to, and ask for their support.

7. Reconsider the skin you’re in:
A plateau is an opportunity to reassess whether further weight loss is worth all the work it will take—and to reconsider whether you may, in truth, now be at a perfectly healthy weight and don’t need to go any lower. If you do choose to stop where you are, turn your focus toward maintaining what you’ve achieved and keeping your body in good shape. Remember, eating well and being physically active are good for you. Do a little of both every day, and you will be a total success.

About RoundToRavishing

30 Something mom, wine and craft beer lover, wanna be crafter who is getting back on the weight-loss horse.

12 responses »

  1. Great article – thanks for sharing!!

    Reply
  2. This was a really good article great tips! Hitting a plateau is the worst! That’s when I have to work REALLY hard not to get frustrated 🙂

    Reply
  3. Stick with it girl. After this week, I will feel like I am just starting….again

    Reply
  4. I agree with 2! Sometimes I’ll even avoid certain foods all together if I’m really not sure what’s in it. Also, GRR I’m not getting updates from your blog. lol I just happened upon this post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

sarahsipsvino

Getting through life one sip of wine at a time.

fightingforbabyg

A Mother's fight for her sweet baby

Damn girl, that's a lot of fattitude

Healthy lifestyler and certified nutjob

cleaneatingintexas.wordpress.com/

learning to eat clean....one meal at a time!

presentlyobsessed

A topnotch WordPress.com site

lulu lives healthy

Every new day is a chance to get healthy!

Healthy Girl Blog

An Australian Girl's Journey of Weight loss.

fatmommiechronicles

The thoughts of one fat mom on a journey

The Incredible Shrinking Shrinks

Two Therapists Lose It

A Fat Man's Journey (Working my way back...)

An Attempt to Journey from Fat to Fit in a Lifetime. Eat right, Eat less, Move more

morrisdanielevan

My personal weight loss struggles and successes and things learned.

Shawn's Gut

On death row...

nmliving

What I love, what I promote, what I am

CurvyLogic

My life as a plus size broke girl: trying to lose weight, save money, stay real, and find myself.

My Big Fat Kiwi Weight Loss...

Looking for the healthier me in Middle Earth....

The Real Jeremy Holley

Writing About Whatever Is On My Mind

