RSS Feed

Dessert without guilt: My Healthier Chocolate Cake Recipe!

It is possible to eat something sweet and not feel the need to beat yourself up afterwards. It is okay to treat yourself every once in a while, it is even better to do it and still feel you made a far better choice than you could have. This was me last night. I wanted, chocolate, I wanted crunchy and I wanted salty all at the same time. So I hit the kitchen and threw together a microwave chocolate cake. It was far healthier than any processed snack and still fell within my clean eating guideline so I was pleased with myself and my craving was satisfied. I still don’t harbor any guilt over my choice either. That is rare for me. So here is a picture of my delicious creation and the recipe. This is a single serving recipe.

Oh so tasty!

Clean Eating Chocolate Cake:

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon dark chocolate cocoa powder
  • 3 tablespoons 100% unbleached whole wheat graham flour
  • 2 teaspoons agave nectar
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 2 packets Stevia In the Raw
  • 1 tablespoon unsweetened coconut
  • 2 teaspoons applesauce
  • 3 tablespoons skim milk (you could substitute with milk of choice)
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon dark chocolate chips
  • 1 teaspoon unsalted shelled sunflower seeds
  • 1 pinch course sea salt

In a small bowl mix together all of the dry ingredients (minus the chips and salt) and Stevia well. Add wet ingredients and stir well. After it is fully mixed pour into mug or ramekin add chips reserving a few, sprinkle remaining chips, seeds and salt on the top of batter. Place in microwave and microwave on high for 1 minute. It did bubble over just a tiny bit so I would recommend placing it on a microwave safe dish or paper towel.Let cool for a minute then enjoy! I am yet to calculate the nutrition to an exact but my rough calculation rounded it out to about:

  • Calories: 170
  • Fat: 2 grams
  • Carbs: 35 grams
  • Fiber: 6.5 grams
  • Protein:5.6 grams

I feel like I am running on E today. I slept less than two hours. I am so temped to grab a Sugar Free Red Bull so I can function. So far I have resisted but have accomplished nothing. I rarely have caffeine via doctors orders. Apparently caffeine and Sleep Deprivation Disorder is not a good mix. Who would have thought, huh? Right now I am having a smoothie in hopes that it give me some up and go. If not, I will be naughty and have some caffeine. After I blog I am going to have an egg to so I get my protein in. Thank goodness today is an easy workout day. Yoga and C25K!  I think I will do LMP Flow and some Gaiam Energizing Yoga too, get the blood flowing before my C25K. Yawn!

Already looking tasty!

Hope this gives me some energy!

What was in my smoothie?

  • 1 mango
  • 1 kiwi
  • 1 handful spinach
  • 2 mandarin oranges
  • 1/2 cup FF Greek yogurt
  • 1 handful ice
  • 1 handful of mixed berries: blueberries, raspberries and blackberries
  • 1/3 cup FF milk

 

About RoundToRavishing

30 Something mom, wine and craft beer lover, wanna be crafter who is getting back on the weight-loss horse.

22 responses »

  1. Personally, I like P90X more than any other weight loss product because it’s convenient. I can use it at my leisure and it’s probably one of the only programs that I’ve actually seen work. I know people who are currently on the system and have lost tons of weight. Their bodies are more defined as well.

    For those of you who may be interested in getting in shape, you can get P90X for $65 at http://www.squidoo.com/where-can-i-buy-p90x also read the comments in the guestbook section to see that this place is legit.

    Reply
  2. I am so making that cake when I get to phase 2. It looks fabulous!!! Mmm…

    Reply
  3. That cake looks delish! I’m going to try it this weekend 🙂 Thanks for the recipe. xo

    Reply
  4. I want some cake….:)

    Reply
  5. Oh yum! That sounds delicious!!!! I’m going to have to try it out.

    Reply
  6. The cake looks amazing and yes it is good to splurge once in a while. Sometimes I just bread down and ‘re-feed’ on something forbidden. Last night, albeit from a healthy source, a cheeseburger — no fries, no frills. Re-feeds like this give me a double dose of energy to perform a highly intensive workout the next day. I feel like that’s a win-win!

    Reply
  7. OH yeah. The photo of your smoothies in the blender is gorgeous!!!

    Reply
  8. That cake looks so yummy! Definitely trying this one! 🙂

    Reply
  9. Hi there, i read your blog from time to time and
    i own a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam remarks?
    If so how do you stop it, any plugin or anything you can advise?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any help is very much appreciated.

    Reply
  10. Hey I am so happy I found your blog, I really found you by error, while I was searching on Google for something else, Anyways I am here
    now and would just like to say kudos for a remarkable post and
    a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to browse it all at the minute but I have
    saved it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when
    I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do
    keep up the fantastic jo.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

sarahsipsvino

Getting through life one sip of wine at a time.

fightingforbabyg

A Mother's fight for her sweet baby

Damn girl, that's a lot of fattitude

Healthy lifestyler and certified nutjob

cleaneatingintexas.wordpress.com/

learning to eat clean....one meal at a time!

presentlyobsessed

A topnotch WordPress.com site

lulu lives healthy

Every new day is a chance to get healthy!

Healthy Girl Blog

An Australian Girl's Journey of Weight loss.

fatmommiechronicles

The thoughts of one fat mom on a journey

The Incredible Shrinking Shrinks

Two Therapists Lose It

A Fat Man's Journey (Working my way back...)

An Attempt to Journey from Fat to Fit in a Lifetime. Eat right, Eat less, Move more

morrisdanielevan

My personal weight loss struggles and successes and things learned.

Shawn's Gut

On death row...

nmliving

What I love, what I promote, what I am

CurvyLogic

My Life. My Blog.

My Big Fat Kiwi Weight Loss...

Looking for the healthier me in Middle Earth....

The Real Jeremy Holley

Writing About Whatever Is On My Mind

