RSS Feed

I may eat this everyday…

for breakfast! so today I tried something new for breakfast so I figured I would share while these kids are happy, quiet and occupied. They were pretty wound up for the funeral showing and dinner after this afternoon and evening. Boredom affects a 5 and 6 year old like 20 Redbulls would a full grown adult. So I brought mine plus one other back to my house for part of the late showing for board games to wind them down before we head back.

So for breakfast I made Quinoa with berries and pecans. It was amazing and I think I may eat it daily.

Image

Here is the recipe:

  • 1/4 cup FF milk
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup quinoa
  • 1 cup mixed berries I used a mix of blackberries, raspberries and blueberries
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup chopped pecans, toasted
  • 1 teaspoons agave nectar
  • 2 tbs FF Greek yogurt
In a saucepan combine quinoa, milk and water, bring to a boil then cover and simmer for 15 minutes or until liquid is absorbed. While quinoa is cooking toast pecans in a dry skillet for 2 to 5 minutes, set aside. Put berries in a microwave safe dish and microwave for 2 to 3 minutes until the berries start to soften and break down a little, set aside. When quinoa is done fluff and put in bowl, top with cinnamon, then fruit, then yogurt then pecans and last drizzle the agave on top and enjoy.
I found a similar recipe here and adapted it to my own tastes and needs as I listed above.
Bon Appetit!
About RoundToRavishing

30 Something mom, wine and craft beer lover, wanna be crafter who is getting back on the weight-loss horse.

3 responses »

  1. Looks good… I will give it a try.

    Reply
  2. I never thought of quinoa for breakfast. I am thinking about it now at 10:30pm. I might try it this weekend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

sarahsipsvino

Getting through life one sip of wine at a time.

fightingforbabyg

A Mother's fight for her sweet baby

Damn girl, that's a lot of fattitude

Healthy lifestyler and certified nutjob

cleaneatingintexas.wordpress.com/

learning to eat clean....one meal at a time!

presentlyobsessed

A topnotch WordPress.com site

lulu lives healthy

Every new day is a chance to get healthy!

Healthy Girl Blog

An Australian Girl's Journey of Weight loss.

fatmommiechronicles

The thoughts of one fat mom on a journey

The Incredible Shrinking Shrinks

Two Therapists Lose It

A Fat Man's Journey (Working my way back...)

An Attempt to Journey from Fat to Fit in a Lifetime. Eat right, Eat less, Move more

morrisdanielevan

My personal weight loss struggles and successes and things learned.

Shawn's Gut

On death row...

nmliving

What I love, what I promote, what I am

CurvyLogic

My life as a plus size broke girl: trying to lose weight, save money, stay real, and find myself.

My Big Fat Kiwi Weight Loss...

Looking for the healthier me in Middle Earth....

The Real Jeremy Holley

Writing About Whatever Is On My Mind

