RSS Feed

Whew last day of week 9!

I am about to start week 10 of Les Mills Pump. I also started C25K and Fitterbetterstronger’s squat challenge, so this post will update all three.

Les Mills Pump: 

I have never gotten in-depth on what the Les Mills Pump program is. Here is the best way I can explain it. It is a hybrid of cardio, strength training using low weights and high reps and a side of yoga. They call it The Rep Effect. Does it work? YES! I am consistently challenged by it, and when certain areas get easier to do it is easy to up the weight a bit or just dig in a little deeper (as they say in the DVD’s “Dig In!)  yesterday I struggled a bit with triceps, my elbows hurt. Wondering if it was due to bad form or what? Maybe it was just an off day. I always struggle with the lunges, but I am getting better and making it through lunge tracks, it took weeks for me to complete and entire lunge track, they are tough! Now squats, I love squats, and I also really enjoy the Clean and Press. Would I recommend it to my friends and loved ones? In a second. Honestly if i hadn’t found this I would more than likely be in the position I was before I started Pump. Today is a cardio day with Pump, I already did c25K, but I really want to keep each program separate so I don’t slack on one or get confused as to what I should be doing what day. So I am thinking some low impact aerobics this afternoon. far more interesting than walking for 45 minutes. I’d like to go to Zumba, but I can’t go to group classes alone, I am a chicken and don’t like to make a fool of myself unless I am in company of friends.

C25K:

Today was my third day doing C25K, I really thought I would hate it but I don’t. Couch to 5k or C25k is an interval training program that is designed to get you from the couch to running a 5k in nine weeks. I put in my 30 today and was feeling pretty good so I did another half hour making a total of 4.5 miles. I tried it in the morning for the first time also. I am a workout in the afternoon and evening kind of person. Never have I been a morning person so morning exercise is not something I would normally consider. My mind was changed today and I will start putting in my time on the treadmill in the am and do Pump in the afternoons. I am glad that I gave the mornings a shot.

Fitness Challenge:  210 Full squats:

Fitterstrongerbetter posted a blog challenging others to do 30 full squats for seven days in a row. Why not join in I thought so here I am at day two. yesterdays 30 were a bit harder because I had already done a billion squats with 35lbs of weight during my Pump session. I did them in one go with a 10lb plate. Today I did them after C25K with 20 on the bar in one setting. Easy peezy. I have to do some many squats with Pump I am turning into a pro squatter 🙂

In a nutshell those are my thoughts. Now onto some food prep, I’ll post about that later.

About RoundToRavishing

30 Something mom, wine and craft beer lover, wanna be crafter who is getting back on the weight-loss horse.

23 responses »

  1. All three impressive– I am in INsanity and was thinking of trying les mills next — you really like it?

    Reply
  2. WOW. I thought I was eating more than I could chew (is that the right cliche). You better watch out. You are not going to be able to shrink your clothes enough. Well second thought…I still vote for the birthday suit.

    Reply
  3. Nice! If you’re finding weighted squats too easy, why not give squats while on your toes a go? Or even more reps, which I have a feeling I’m going to have to do next week to challenge myself again.

    Reply
  4. Oh wow… I am thoroughly impressed! That is awesome!!! =) I definitely want to give the C25K a go! Probably when I get back from vacation. Though running around Disneyland could be fun…

    Reply
  5. I started the c25k last week too! Starting week 2 today. 🙂 Good luck!!

    Reply
  6. I miss pump so much!!! 😦

    Reply
  7. For triceps (on the bar), it’s usually the grip or range of motion that causes discomfort. Make sure your hands are shoulder-width apart. I sometimes check myself on this by bringing my hands all the way to my shoulders before I start.

    If you’re really feeling it in the elbows, try limiting your range of motion. So instead of bringing the bar all the way to your forehead, stop the elbows at about a 90 degree bend. I usually have to do this; you get the same strength benefits without aggravating the joints.

    Hope that helps!

    Reply
  8. Reblogged this on InspiredWeightloss!.

    Reply
  9. Wow nice work! I love the Les Mills BodyPump classes at the gym 🙂 I do wish I could exercise in the mornings.. I did give it a solid go for almost 2 weeks, but now winter is creeping in here and the dark mornings are most unappealing!

    Reply
  10. Clean and press is my Favoirte. I’d just do those all day if I could. Really. Every time in class… When do we do the clean and press!!!

    Reply
  11. RE” Just make sure that you don’t do weighted squats on your toes,. Right. In class they tell us if we are not able to wiggle our toes during the squats, then we are obviously not pushing from the heels. (so I always wiggle them now and then to be sure).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

sarahsipsvino

Getting through life one sip of wine at a time.

fightingforbabyg

A Mother's fight for her sweet baby

Damn girl, that's a lot of fattitude

Healthy lifestyler and certified nutjob

cleaneatingintexas.wordpress.com/

learning to eat clean....one meal at a time!

presentlyobsessed

A topnotch WordPress.com site

lulu lives healthy

Every new day is a chance to get healthy!

Healthy Girl Blog

An Australian Girl's Journey of Weight loss.

fatmommiechronicles

The thoughts of one fat mom on a journey

The Incredible Shrinking Shrinks

Two Therapists Lose It

A Fat Man's Journey (Working my way back...)

An Attempt to Journey from Fat to Fit in a Lifetime. Eat right, Eat less, Move more

morrisdanielevan

My personal weight loss struggles and successes and things learned.

Shawn's Gut

On death row...

nmliving

What I love, what I promote, what I am

CurvyLogic

My Life. My Blog.

My Big Fat Kiwi Weight Loss...

Looking for the healthier me in Middle Earth....

The Real Jeremy Holley

Writing About Whatever Is On My Mind

