RSS Feed

Sunday is for food shopping

It’s Sunday! That was for all of you that don’t know what the day is :0)  Anyhow here Sundays are for grocery shopping. I still need to make my list and plan meals and actually do the shopping. This weeks trip should be super easy, I already have enough protein in the house to feed a small army for at least a month, I have a years supply of beef in the deep freezer so maybe longer than a month.

I love grocery shopping (weird huh?) but I really hate walking by end caps that are stuffed with all the processed “yummy” foods I used to eat. Even shopping the perimeter you still go by two dozen end caps. I never really want these things unless I see them. Once they are in my view I mourn for them, just a little. People talk about how they eat my “forbidden’ foods and the thought of eating that junk can make my stomach turn. Why do I feel totally different when I see it?

When I grocery shop i try to find an ingredient that I have never had, never cooked myself or something new for Emma or the DH. Emma loves being able to pick something new from the produce section. This has really helped with changing her diet to a less processed more diverse one. She is doing great with the healthy eating. We went had dinner out the other day and she ordered, grilled chicken, pita, salad and steamed broccoli. Not bad for a six-year-old ordering her own meal. At six I would have said chicken fingers, fries and ice cream.

I am thinking this week I may shop a bit outside of my norm. A good friend of our’s dad passed so I’m thinking I  should get the stuff to send them a few meals for the week. I would make what I make but not everyone wants to eat the way I do and it wouldn’t be much help if I sent things they don’t eat. I need to make some calls to make sure food isn’t already handled first. I figure some baked ziti, a tray of salad, a pan of enchiladas and a tray of rice may do. They reheat well.

Well, I better go make my lists and get moving i still have to get my workout in today too! Happy Sunday everyone!

End Caps are EVIL!

About roundtoravishing

I am a 30 year old wife and SAHM of one who is on a quest to get back my confidence one day at a time.

3 responses »

  1. This is the second grocery post I’ve seen today, and even I did one! The grocery store was painful for me though, SO packed.

    Reply
    • I so feel your pain! Both stores I went to were packed and full of rude people who think they should stop and block aisles for as long as possible, or stand in front of something forever while talking on their phones. It doesn’t have a cord, move your asses!

      Reply
  2. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I don’t know who you are but definitely you’re going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already ;) Cheers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

fightingforbabyg

A Mother's fight for her sweet baby

Damn girl, that's a lot of fattitude

Healthy lifestyler and certified nutjob

learning to eat clean....one meal at a time!

presentlyobsessed

A topnotch WordPress.com site

lulu lives healthy

Every new day is a chance to get healthy!

Healthy Girl Blog

An Australian Girl's Journey of Weight loss.

fatmommiechronicles

The thoughts of one fat mom on a journey

The Incredible Shrinking Shrinks

Two Therapists Lose It

A Fat Man's Journey (OK, not so fat now...)

An Attempt to Journey from Fat to Fit in a Lifetime. Eat right, Eat less, Move more

morrisdanielevan

My personal weight loss struggles and successes and things learned.

Shawn's Gut

On death row...

nmliving

What I love, what I promote, what I am

Dangerous Curves Ahead!

Your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit … therefore, glorify God in your body.” ~ Welcome to my Journey from over 500 whopping Pounds to Being Fit and Healthy

My Big Fat Kiwi Weight Loss...

Looking for the healthier me in Middle Earth....

The Real Jeremy Holley

Writing About Whatever Is On My Mind

wrrjourney

Wash, Rinse, Repeat: Tales of a recovering yo-yo dieter

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 573 other followers

